Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

Six All-Star nominations for us

The nominations list for this year’s All-Stars was published earlier this morning. We’ve got six on it this year – Colm Boyle, Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Aidan and Seamus O’Shea and Cillian O’Connor – and the list features ten different counties. Kerry, as you’d expect, lead the way with eleven, Donegal and Dublin both have nine, Monaghan have four, Armagh […]

All-Star selection doubly cruel on Cillian

Photo: @officialgaa Every year the All-Star awards never fail to cause controversy and tonight’s version was no exception. While the first fourteen gongs in the football awards went in the direction expected (from our perspective, Ger Cafferkey losing out to Dublin’s Rory O’Carroll was a bit disappointing but it wasn’t a surprise), there proved to be a sting in the […]

Andy’s interview + first look at possible All-Stars

I happened to be in the car last night when Andy Moran’s interview with Oisin Langan on Newstalk’s  Off The Ball show was on. Andy was his usual forthright self and despite showing plenty of obvious disappointment over Sunday’s latest near-miss with Sam he was also bullish about the future. He was asked about whether or not James Horan was […]

Charlestown go down bravely, Leitrim enjoy first FBD title success

Hard luck to Charlestown Sarsfields who today came unstuck in extra-time in their All-Ireland Intermediate football semi-final against Cookstown Fr Rocks of Tyrone. The match was played in truly horrendous conditions at Pearse Park in Longford (never a happy hunting ground for Mayo teams, it must be said) and for long stretches it looked as if it would be Charlestown’s […]

Cillian scoops second YFOTY award

Tonight was All-Star award night up here at the National Convention Centre and with Keith, Ger, Lee and Alan collecting their gongs it was always going to be a good night for the county. It was made even better, though, with the announcement that Cillian O’Connor was, for the second year running, named the Young Footballer of the Year. Ed […]