Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

State of the final eight

10:49am: “We’re sorry, but we couldn’t find any events” 10.51am: “You are now in line……………1,759 people in front of you” 11.07am: “You are now in line……………689 people in front of you” God, I really hate queuing for Mayo tickets online. Technology and I are not friends at the best of times. Give me a physical ticket put into my hand […]

Shauna lands decisive kick as ladies shade it

For the second time in less than a week a Mayo team today found itself having to undergo trial by shootout. This time it was the women’s football team and the shootout involved free kicks rather than penalties but, from our perspective, it finished in the same happy way. That wasn’t the only point of commonality between today’s LGFA SFC […]

Unchanged LGFA team for Saturday

Ladies football is where it’s at for us this weekend, with the county’s LGFA team back in Championship action on Saturday. The opposition this time are Monaghan and the venue is Ballinamore with the game fixed for 2pm. Earlier on today we named our team for this Round 2 match in Group 1 of the Senior Championship and it’s the […]

Monday match reports

Right, let’s start with some positivity – it’s a Bank Holiday Monday and the sun is shining outside. And next spring – if it’s in the spring that the National League next year will be contested – we’ll get to rub shoulders with all our besties from the qualifiers. Clare, Cork, Down, Kildare – what a fun we’ll have together. […]

Hurlers open Rackard campaign with a convincing win

The county’s hurlers began their Nicky Rackard Cup campaign in fine style this afternoon. Monaghan proved no match for Derek Walsh’s free-scoring side at Clontibret today, as the Mayo lads came out on top by 3-32 to 2-10. The visitors didn’t take long to assert their authority at O’Neill Park today. With David Kenny minding the shop with calm efficiency […]

Two changes for Tyrone game

We named our team a bit earlier this evening for Sunday’s National Football League Round 7 clash with Tyrone at MacHale Park. Here it is: Mayo (NFL Division One v Tyrone, 25/10/2020): David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore), Lee Keegan (Westport); Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport); Matthew Ruane (Breaffy), Conor Loftus […]