Sources used: Western People; Freeman’s Journal; Padraig Ferguson’s Archive; The Complete Handbook of Gaelic Games; 2008 Connacht SFC Final match programme

[Team and scorers details still to be sourced]

Connacht Championship

SEMI-FINAL: Mayo 3-3 Galway 0-3 (Athlone, 12/9/1915). MAYO: DF Courell (captain), T Boshell (1-1), T Ruane, P Ruane (0-1), B Courell (1-0), T Gibson, P Cawley, P Galvin, P Smith (1-0), J Reilly, M Reilly, J Lydon, M Gavin, J Waldron, P Jennings. [One point unattributed] 

FINAL: Roscommon 0-3 Mayo 3-1 (Castlerea, 26/9/1915). MAYO: DF Courell (captain), J Waldron, J Gavin, T Ruane, J McEllin, J Reilly, J Lydon, P Smith (1-1), P Jennings (1-0), M Murray (1-0), G Delaney, T Boshell, T Gibson, P Galvin, P Cawley.

Mayo did not take part in the 1915 All-Ireland championship.  Instead, Roscommon played Kerry in the All-Ireland semi-final on 19/9/1915 (i.e. a week before the Connacht final), with Kerry winning by 2-3 to 1-1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *