1939/1940 NFL

Mayo refused to take part in the 1939/1940 NFL, reportedly due to a grievance over events that had occurred during the previous year’s All-Ireland semi-final replay against Kerry.

Connacht Championship

SEMI-FINAL: Sligo 2-4 Mayo 1-7 (Sligo, 30/6/1940). MAYO: T Burke; J Donoghue, T Regan, T Laffey; P Dixon, G Ormsby, P Robinson; T Robinson, H Kenny; M O’Malley (1-0), PJ Judge, P Laffey; T McNamara, A O’Toole, T Hoban (0-4, one free).

SEMI-FINAL (REPLAY): Sligo 0-7 Mayo 3-2 (Sligo, 14/7/1940). MAYO: D Acton; M Griffin, R Winters, T McNamara; T Regan, G Ormsby (0-2), B Durkin; H Kenny, A O’Toole; PJ Judge, T Laffey, P Laffey; S Daly, P Moclair (2-0), T Hoban.  Subs: P Robinson, J Laffey (1-0), M O’Malley, J Mulrooney.

FINAL: Galway 1-7 Mayo 0-5 (St Coman’s Park, Roscommon, 21/7/1940).  MAYO: D Acton; T Laffey, R Winters, M Griffin; T Regan, G Ormsby (0-1), T Robinson; H Kenny, J Mulrooney; PJ Judge, A O’Toole, P Laffey (0-1); J Munnelly, T McNamara, M O’Malley (0-3).

1940/1 NFL

Cavan 1-5 Mayo 1-9 (Cavan, 13/10/1940). MAYO: D Acton; T Laffey, R Winters, B Durkin; T Regan, T Robinson, A O’Toole; H Kenny, J Mulrooney; J Munnelly (Castlebar, 0-3), PJ Judge (0-1), P Laffey; M O’Malley (1-0), J Munnelly (Ballycastle, 0-3), T Hoban (0-2).

Mayo 0-7 Roscommon 0-7 (MacHale Park, 27/10/1940). MAYO: D Acton; B Durkin, R Winters, T Laffey; T Regan, G Ormsby, T Robinson; J Mulrooney, H Kenny; J Munnelly (Castlebar), PJ Judge (0-2), P Laffey (0-1); M O’Malley (0-1), J Munnelly (Ballycastle, 0-1), T Hoban (0-1). Sub: J Laffey (0-1).

Mayo 1-10 Donegal 0-5 (James Stephens Park, Ballina, 24/11/1940). MAYO: D Acton; T McNamara, R Winters, M Griffin; T Regan, G Ormsby (0-2, frees), B Durkin; J Mulrooney, H Kenny; J Carney (0-2), J Munnelly (Ballycastle, 0-1)P Laffey (0-1); PJ Judge (1-1), P Kilroy, J Munnelly (Castlebar, 0-2). [One further Mayo point unattributed]

Sligo 3-0 Mayo 2-7 (Tubbercurry, 8/12/1940). Mayo scorers: M O’Malley (1-1), J Munnelly (1-1), PJ Judge (0-2), P Kilroy (0-1). [Team details not available]


Connacht Championship

FIRST ROUND: Galway 2-6 Mayo 2-3 (Parkmore, Tuam, 7/7/1940). [Team and scorer details not available]

Note: The scoreline above is that reported by the Connaught Telegraph. The Tuam Herald reported a score of 3-4 to 1-5 in Galway’s favour and that paper stated the match was a Connacht semi-final fixture, whereas the Connaught Telegraph described it as a Connacht final. Following an objection lodged by Mayo in relation to an over-age player on the Galway team, Mayo were awarded the tie and qualified to meet Roscommon in the semi-final. 

SEMI-FINAL: Mayo 2-6 Roscommon 1-8 (MacHale Park, 30/7/1940). Mayo scorers: Langan (2-0), McGowan (0-4), McCormack (0-1), Jennings (0-1).  [Team details not available]

FINAL:  Mayo 8-5 Leitrim 1-6 (Castlerea, 4/8/1940).  [Team and scorer details not available]

All-Ireland Championship

SEMI-FINAL: Mayo 3-12 Kerry 2-5 (MacHale Park, 1/9/1940). MAYO: J McLoughlin; M Galvin, C Lang, F Mongey; J McGowan, J Jennings, J Mulhern; C Carroll, S Flanagan; J Ralph, T Acton, T Byrne; M Forkin, J Cunningham, T Langan, P Loughrey. [Scorer details not available. Note that sixteen players were listed in this team published in the Connaught Telegraph.]

FINAL: Louth 5-5 Mayo 2-7 (Croke Park, 22/9/1940). MAYO: A Breslin; M Galvin, C Lang, J McLoughlin; T Acton, F Mongey, S Durkin; M Langan, J Ralph (0-1, a ’50’); J Forkin (0-1), JJ McGowan (0-4, frees), A McNally; J Jennings, T Byrne (0-1), D Loughrey (2-0). Sub: P Browne for McNally.

Sources used: Padraig Ferguson’s Archive, The Road to 51, The Complete Handbook of Gaelic Games, Irish Examiner, Western People, Connaught Telegraph, Tuam Herald.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *