Brilliant Ballinrobe seal All-Ireland title

Photo: Mayo LGFA (Sportsfile)

It’s not every day that a team from Mayo wins an All-Ireland. I’d hazard a guess that only once ever has a team from the county done so winning by a margin of 24 points.

That happened today, in the All-Ireland Post Primary Junior C final at University of Limerick North Campus, where Ballinrobe Community School overwhelmed St Mary’s Macroom. The Mayo girls led by 2-5 to 0-2 at half-time and they powered on after the break, sealing the title on a scoreline of 5-13 to 0-4.

Oisín McGovern has the full story of today’s final in the Mayo News (here) and on the LGFA website (here), the latter report including scorer and team details.

Congrats to Ballinrobe Community School on their great win today.

5 thoughts on “Brilliant Ballinrobe seal All-Ireland title

  1. Some win, congrats to all involved.

    Didn’t the same school win a boy’s all-Ireland a few years back too with Oisín Mullin playing, or am I misremembering?

  2. @it means nothing to me. You’re spot on Oisín won the all ireland there a few years ago. From what I hear these girls will win alot more if they stay together.

  3. 2017 team included oisin mullen, Tommy Conroy, Aaron McDonnell ( who plays for mayo tomorrow v Derry) Nathan Moran (holly/ carraamore) Cathal Slattery (Garry) Conor heneghan (holly) Evan o brien ( ballinrobe) all players that have represented mayo teams since.

  4. @Rober , was 2017 B or C comp.
    I remember the crew before that won the All Ireland B comp in the 1990s … Tony Corcoran Garrymore ,
    Declan Hughes The Neale , Fergal and Donal Costello and Fergal O Loughlin Ballinrobe,
    A Crowd hasn’t been seen in Ballinrobe for a homecoming like it since … Some memories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *