Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

Brendan Harrison announces his retirement

It was announced a few hours ago that Brendan Harrison has retired from inter-county football. The official announcement on this from Mayo GAA is here. A stylish defender who was an integral part of the Mayo team that came so agonisingly close to All-Ireland glory against a Dublin team at the peak of their powers in 2016 and again in […]

Two All-Star nominations for us

The list of nominees for this year’s GAA/GPA PwC All-Star awards was published this morning. We’ve got two players on the list, with Diarmuid O’Connor nominated at midfield (as, incidentally, has his Kerry namesake) while Jordan Flynn has been nominated in the forwards. There’s a larger spread of counties that usual included in this year’s list of 45 nominees – […]

Loads about Lee

There has, understandably, been a significant amount of media coverage following Lee Keegan’s retirement announcement yesterday. It’s a testament to the esteem in which Lee is held that the prevailing narrative throughout all this coverage is one that extols the leadership qualities and never-say-die attitude that made Lee such a fans’ favourite, not just among Mayo people but for followers […]

Lee still undecided about next year

Mayo’s five-time All-Star and 2016 Footballer of the Year Lee Keegan was speaking last night at a live webinar where, inevitably, the question came up about his plans for inter-county involvement in 2023. Mike Finnerty has a piece on last night’s discussion on this topic on the Mayo News website – here. The gist of the conversation from last night’s […]

Five Mayo players on LGFA All-Star nomination list

The LGFA’s TG4 All-Star nomination list was published earlier today and Mayo’s run to this year’s All-Ireland semi-final has been recognised in the form of five All-Star nominations. Danielle Caldwell is nominated in the full-back line, Kathryn Sullivan in the half-back line, Sinéad Cafferky at midfield, Shauna Howley in the half-forward line and Lisa Cafferky in the full-forward line. All-Ireland […]

Three All-Stars plus YFOTY award for us

The GAA/GPA Gaelic football All-Star awards for 2021 were unveiled on RTÉ a bit earlier on this evening. The football awards had none of the shock value of their hurling equivalents in what was an uncontroversial and largely fair selection. We came away with three All-Stars. Lee Keegan picked up his fifth award, cementing his place as one of the […]

Keith wins Rackard Player of the Year

It’s All-Star week, with this year’s GAA/GPA hurling and football teams set to be announced in a few days time. Ahead of that, earlier on today the 2021 Champion 15 team – comprising players from counties who competed in the Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups this year – was announced. Our successful Rackard Cup campaign was recognised by the inclusion […]