Mayo GAA Blog

Mayo GAA news, views and over a century of results

Friday night for the FBD final

It’s almost beyond our collective memory – well, not quite, but it has been a while – since we last played in an FBD League final but this Friday evening at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence Air Dome we take on Roscommon in this year’s provincial pre-season decider. Throw-in at the Dome is 7.30pm on Friday. Tickets – a […]

A few FBD stats

This time last year, I did a post-FBD piece on who had played and who had scored in the three games and that was such fun that I’m back again twelve months on with another one, the essential details of which are – like last year – summarised in a neat little table. Voilà. At one level, the picture this year […]

Rossies end our FBD hopes

Photo: Mayo’s 2015 FBD campaign came to a disappointing end at Elverys MacHale Park this afternoon as Roscommon ran out deserving five-point winners over the home side on a glorious day for football. Mayo welcomed Kenneth O’Malley, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Seamus O’Shea, Diarmuid O’Connor, Enda Varley and Darren Coen back to the team for the first time this season. […]

Team to face Roscommon named

As has already been referenced in the comments, the team and subs for our our final FBD group match, against Roscommon in just under an hour from now at MacHale Park, has been named. Details are as follows: Mayo (FBD League v Roscommon, 18/1/2015): Kenneth O’Malley (Ballinrobe); Chris Barrett (Belmullet), Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Lee Keegan (Westport); Colm Boyle (Davitts), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore), […]

Team named for today

As Remember51 has just said in the comments, the team to play IT Sligo in the FBD League at Ballina this afternoon (throw-in 2pm) has been named. It’s pretty much all change from last Sunday and the details are as follows: Mayo (FBD League v IT Sligo, 11/1/2015): David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); Kevin Keane (Westport), Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Steven Duffy […]