Club Stars award winners

Photo: @Mayonewssport

The 13th annual Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars awards, held in association with AIB, were announced last night at a reception held in the Knockranny Hotel in Westport. Here’s a quick run-down on the list of winners that were revealed at last night’s event.

Club Stars Team of the Year: Rory Byrne (Castlebar Mitchels); Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber), Ger McDonagh (Castlebar Mitchels), Donie Newcombe (Castlebar Mitchels); Trevor Nally (Garrymore), James McCormack (Claremorris), Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels); Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber), Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Alan Dillon (Ballintubber), Kevin Feerick (Hollymount/Carramore); David Stenson (Castlebar Mitchels), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber), Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels). Replacements: Gary Loftus (Ballintubber), Jamie Oates (Garrymore), Cian Costello (Castlebar Mitchels), James Shaughnessy (Claremorris), Brian Reape (Moy Davitts).

Golden Boot (Senior): Cillian O’Connor, scoring 2-40 in the SFC

Golden Boot (Intermediate): Brian Reape, scoring 7-38 in the IFC

Personality of the Year: Andy Moran (who else?)

Hall of Fame Award: PJ McGrath

Volunteers of the Year: CLG Tuar Mhic Eadaigh for their hosting of Comortás Peile na Gaeltachta

Special Achievement Award: Carnacon LGFA club, All-Ireland senior champions for 2017

Special Achievement Award: Westport GAA club, All-Ireland intermediate champions for 2017

Special Achievement Award: Tooreen hurling club, Connacht intermediate champions for 2017

Hurling Recognition Award: Joe Henry (Tooreen)

Managers of the Year: Declan O’Reilly and Declan Shaw (Castlebar Mitchels)

Junior Footballer of the Year: Adrian Leonard (Lahardane MacHales)

Intermediate Footballer of the Year: Brian Reape (Moy Davitts)

Senior Footballer of the Year: Ger McDonagh (Castlebar Mitchels)

Congrats to all the winners (hopefully I’ve included them all in the above list) and well done to them on their respective achievements in 2017.

16 thoughts on “Club Stars award winners

  1. A.N. Other must have made the team of the year because there is only 14 listed above!

  2. WJ John Maughan shared the manager of the year award with the Castlebar lads too I believe. Any idea who holds the most club stars since the awards started?

  3. Think I saw a tweet saying Alan Dillon has won a club star award in 10 of the 13 seasons they’ve been around. Doubt anyone has more than that.

  4. Brian Reape Intermediate “Footballer of the year”, and “Golden Boot”, scoring 7. 38 ( 5 goals more than Cillian O Connor) and last replacement on the Team of the year, ????????, the mind boggles ! !

  5. Intermediate probably the weighting factor for against Brian. Nice for lads get bit recognition but wouldn’t get to excited about it and criteria for selection lot county lads there how many club games did they even play..

  6. Team named for tomorrow.
    1. David Clarke – Ballina Stephenites
    2. Brendan Harrison – Aghamore
    3. Ger Cafferkey – Ballina Stephenites
    4. Eoin O’Donoghue – Belmullet
    5. Colm Boyle Davitts
    6. Michael Hall – Breaffy
    7. Paddy Durcan – Castlebar Mitchels
    8. Jason Gibbons – Ballintubber
    9. Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
    10. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore
    11. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
    12. Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber
    13. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole
    14. Evan Regan – Ballina Stephenites
    15. Ciaran Treacy Ballina Stephenites

  7. Strong team and the majority will start against Monaghan I’d imagine. A few there who haven’t shown much form in a good while and could do with a big performance.

  8. Clearly Rochy likes what he sees in young Ciaran Treacy.4 Ballina men starting tomorrow in nearby Enniscrone expecting a big Mayo crowd at this.surprised not to see Brian Reape and Peter Naughton get another chance.but u can only play 15 I suppose!
    Not to gone on Stephen Coen been Midfield.he can only play 6 in my opinion not the best fielder of a ball.
    A few headaches for Rochy in the coming weeks trying to trim down the panel for National League and giving a few players the P45 probably the worse part of an inter county managers job.

  9. Well done to all the bucks pucking up the awards. Is there any competition for who wears the tightest fitting suit? Some of them in the photograph look like they had the suit for their Confirmation!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *