Club Stars shortlist announced

The Mayo News has full details of this year’s thirty nominees for the county’s Club Stars Team of the Year.  Mirroring the way that such baubles are handed out at inter-county level, most of the club nominations have been claimed by players on the teams who made most progress in the championship. As a result, new county champions Charlestown (who have seven nominees) and beaten finalists Knockmore (with five) account for a significant proportion of the nominations but, in all, fourteen clubs are represented in the shake-up. Apart from the two county finalists, the others are Castlebar (with four nominees), Shrule/Glencorrib (three) and one each from Crossmolina, Ballaghaderreen, Ballintubber, Kiltane, Garrymore and Ballina.  In addition, there are five wild card nominations from Intermediate clubs, with Intermediate champions Westport gaining two of these and Tourmakeady, Belmullet and Cill Chomain supplying the other three.

The shortlist was prepared by County Board Secretary Seán Feeney, Midwest’s Eamon Clarke and Seán Rice and Austin Garvin from the Mayo News.  The same panel will pick the final fifteen (and five replacements) and all will be revealed at the annual Club Stars gala banquet which is scheduled for Friday, 27th of November at the Knockranny House Hotel in Westport.

One thought on “Club Stars shortlist announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *