Galway name their team for Sunday

It’s already Thursday night and still there’s no sign of of a teamsheet from our side for Sunday’s clash with the Tribesmen in Tuam (throw-in 2.30 pm).  Galway, though, have named their starting fifteen and here it is:

Galway (NFL Division One v Mayo, 27/2/2011): Padraic Lally; Alan Burke, Colin Forde, David Reilly; Gary O’Donnell, Finian Hanley, Kevin Brady; Paul Conroy, Eddie Hoare; Joe Bergin, Cormac Bane, Gary Sice; Sean Armstrong, Danny Cummins, Cathal Kenny.

I’d be no expert on who’s who in footballing circles in Galway but I don’t think I’d be alone in admitting to limited knowledge about a good number of the names on that team.  Even those that I would be well aware of – such as Finian Hanley at centre-back and Gary Sice at 12 – are lining out in different areas of the field than where you’d expect to see them.

I’ve no idea when we’ll be naming our team but seeing as some kind of line-up will already be with the programme printers by now, you’d think we should be in a position to make some kind of announcement soon.  Injuries are, of course, a fairly major issue for us, with Neil Douglas and Trevor Howley now added to the list of walking wounded, while the ongoing Sigerson action plus the imminent start of the U21 championship will complicate team selection matters still further.

All of which means that the only other news I have at the moment is that Sunday’s ref is Derek Fahy from Longford.  I didn’t know much about him either but then I googled him and found this.  Oh dear.

5 thoughts on “Galway name their team for Sunday

  1. Paul Conroy is back at midfield in the team after representing St James in the AI Itermediate club final. St James lost in extra time and Conroy shone for them.
    Don’t thin it will be as straight fw as ev1 thinks (is it ever ?) against Galway. Mind you they haven’t Meehan or Joyce yet so thats a good sign.

  2. There’s speculation and anticipation and changes are almost inevitable ….the pecils are sharpened … there is a sheet with all the runners …. but who will get the tick in the box … ? …. and that’s only the Mayo team for next Sunday !

  3. From a Galway point of view, delighted to have new names on the teamsheet. Our fullforward line excites me, Army, Cathal Kenny and Cummins, three lively lads who I would have near my starting 15 for the championship. PJ and Mike Meehan have to go in their yet so we will be in good stead, if these guys can perform.

    Good to see we are trying something new at midfield with Hoare this year but we are limited there. Colin Forde, full back, interesting to see how he gets on and David Reilly is a good footballer.

    Considering everything im quitely confident we can pull it off, if these unknowns play well.. But believe me, they are good footballers and will want to prove a point, so make sure your lads dont go down their expecting to win 🙂

    Good luck thus year Mayo (but not Sunday).
    Gaillimh Abu

  4. Thanks, Mike, for that insight from the other side of the fence. And don’t worry – our lads never arrive in Tuam expecting anything handy!

  5. Mayo team:
    1) Robert Hennelly
    2) Tom Cunniffe
    3) Alan Feeney
    4) Chris Barrett
    5) Richie Feeney
    6) Ger Cafferkey
    7) James Burke
    8) Ronan McGarrity
    9) James Killcullen
    10) Aidan Campbell
    11) Alan Dillon
    12) Kevin McLoughlin
    13) Aidan O’Shea
    14) Andy Moran
    15) Jason Doherty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *