Galway’s team for Sligo match named

Galway tonight named their team for Sunday’s Connacht semi-final with Sligo.  Here it is:

Galway (Connacht SFC v Sligo 28/6/2009): Adrian Faherty; Damien Burke, Finian Hanley, Niall Coyne; Gareth Bradshaw, Diarmuid Blake, Declan Meehan; Paul Conroy, Gary O’Donnell; Cormac Bane, Padraig Joyce, Joe Bergin; Sean Armstrong, Michael Meehan, Matthew Clancy.

Liam Sammon has made three changes to the team that lined out in Ruislip last month.  Declan Meehan comes in for Gary Sice at wing-back, Joe Bergin replaces the injured Damien Dunleavy at left half-forward and at top-of-the-left Mattie Clancy replaces Nicky Joyce who, of course, is no longer on the panel.  That latter switch would seem to show that while dodgy haircuts are okay within the Galway camp, dopey-looking eyes aren’t.

Right: it would appear that we’re Dubs again this coming Sunday so I need to get the tickets sorted.  At least this time the opposition will be wearing maroon and white so it’ll be easy enough to shout against them.  They’re also managed by a Kerryman so that’s another good excuse …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *