Galway’s team for Sunday named

Galway have named their team for our league clash at McHale Park on Sunday.  Here (courtesy of the Galway GAA website) it is:

Paul Doherty; Kieran Fitzgerald, Finian Hanley, Damien Burke; Gary Sice, Niall Coyne, Darren Mullahy; Niall Coleman, Barry Cullinane; Joe Bergin, Padraig Joyce, Declan Meehan; Matthew Clancy, Michael Meehan, Fiachra Breathnach.

The team includes ten of the side that started in Salthill last May and all of them, bar Mullahy, played some part in that encounter.  And, unlike last May, they’ve now got a really good manager on the sideline.  This is going to be a serious test for us.

There’s no sign of our team yet but I can’t see why we shouldn’t name it later on this evening.  I’ll keep an eye on the Mayo GAA website (it does have its uses) tonight,  in case we do.

In other news, this report in the Irish Times (sub required) says that Austie has decided to throw in his lot with de Vins for the coming season.  Louisburgh’s loss will undoubtedly be Marino’s gain.  Speaking of the Vins, I see that Pillar has at last decided to give four of the All-Ireland winning side a starting berth for the Dubs against the Rossies this weekend.  I don’t envy Paul Earley in his new role as interim bainisteoir for the Rossies: he’s a brave man to swap his nice, easy role as a punter for the bear-pit that is the Sheepstealers dug-out, especially in light of the stuff that’s come out about the virulent abuse directed at John Maughan and which precipitated his departure from the post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *