Galway’s U21 team for Saturday named

No sign as yet of any team news for Sunday’s crunch league clash with Donegal but Galway have this evening named their starting fifteen and subs for Saturday afternoon’s Connacht U21 semi-final against our lads in Tuam. Full details are as follows:

Galway (Connacht U21 football semi-final v Mayo, Tuam Stadium, 23/3/2013): Thomas Healy; Liam Silke, James Shaughnessy, Philip Ezergailis; Mark Loughnane, Eoin Walsh, Paul Varley; Fiontain Ó Corraoin, Damien Comer; Cathal Mulryan, Sean Moran, Padraig Cunningham; Shane Walsh, Adrian Varley, Garry Kelly. Subs: James Healy, Daithi Burke, Gearoid Canavan, Enna hEochaldh, Matthew Heskin, Shane Maughan, Conor Rabbitte, Ian Burke, Fiach Bearra.

That line-up, not surprisingly, is unchanged from the one that started in the Tribesmen’s impressive dismissal of Sligo in last weekend’s preliminary round tie.

We haven’t yet named our team for Saturday yet but, as this interview in the Mayo News with manager Tony Duffy confirms, the side will be captained by double-winning Young Player of the Year, Cillian O’Connor and will, amongst others, feature the likes of Niall Freeman, Brendan Harrison, Conor Walsh, Aidan Butler, Danny Kirby, Eoghan Lavin, Michael Forde, Darren Coen, Evan Regan and Conor O’Shea.

2 thoughts on “Galway’s U21 team for Saturday named

  1. Had a look into the Donegal GAA page just now, and Jimmy McGuinness is a little disappointed they didn’t get something from the Cork match. Says he’s happy enough where they are at the moment, but is stressing the importance of picking up the 2 points against Mayo. Otherwise he says, we’re into a dog fight to stay in Division 1, as their final League match in against Dublin in Croker.

    How timely it would be then, were Mayo to throw a spanner in the Donegal works, and at the same time, extract a little retribution for last September. My God if we ever need a bit of motivation to lift our game, we sure have it now.

  2. mayo team just anounced on facebook there

    1) Paul Mannion – Mayo Gaels
    2) Brendan Harrison – Aghamore
    3) Niall Freeman – Aghamore
    4) Aidan Butler – Claremorris
    5) Conor Horan – Swinford
    6) Conor Walsh – Balla
    7) Eoghan Collins – Ballyhaunis
    8) Danny Kirby – Castlebar Mitchels
    9) Míchael Forde – Ballycastle
    10) Adam Gallagher – Mayo Gaels
    11) Evan Regan – Ballina Stephenites
    12) James Shaughnessy – Claremorris
    13) Darren Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
    14) Conor O’Shea – Breaffy
    15) Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber (Captain)

    16) Rory Byrne – Castlebar Mitchels
    17) Cian Burke – Ardnaree
    18) Eoin Jordan – Ballaghaderreen
    19) Mark Regan – Moy Davitts
    20) Keith Rutledge – Knockmore
    21) Eoghan Lavin – Kiltimagh
    22) Fergal Durcan – Castlebar Mitchels
    23) Cian Costello – Castlebar Mitchels
    24) Sean Kelly – Moy Davitts
    25) Sean McGarry – Ballina Stephenites
    26) Kevin Lynch – Mayo Gaels
    27) Ryan Quirke – Knockmore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *