Here we go again

Mayo flag AIF 2013

It’s been a long time since the final whistle blew at Croke Park on September 22nd last but tomorrow evening at MacHale Park the 2014 season (or, to be exact, the pre-season) will begin. It’ll do so in the form of our opening FBD League match in which we’ll be facing the might of NUIG (throw-in 7pm).

In fact, it’s set to be a bit of a helter-skelter weekend football-wise. Those planning to gorge themselves on a feast of winter football have three matches at which to pig out: as well as tomorrow evening’s under-the-lights fixture, there’s the tasty-looking U21 Hastings Cup clash with Cavan at the Centre of Excellence in Bekan on Saturday afternoon (throw-in 2pm) and that’s followed on Sunday afternoon by the FBD match against IT Sligo at Fr. O’Hara Park, Charlestown (throw-in 2pm).

I’m not going to get to any of these games but you’ll be glad to know that Mike Kelly will be doing the FBD match reports here on the site. With Mayo Mick riding shotgun doing the photos at both games, the whole weekend’s production is set to be all-Swinford one. Thanks to both in advance for this.

So, here we go again – once more setting off on a road that we hope will lead to September glory but which, we know, is likely to contain significant challenges to be overcome before we can even think about another assault on the summit. If the poll that’s been running here on the site over the last short while is anything to go by then we’re heading into 2014 with even greater confidence about our ability to seal the deal this year compared to last: 54% of you say we’ll land Sam this September compared to 35% opting for this outcome in the similar poll conducted last January. Hope springs eternal and all that. Up the Green and Red.

14 thoughts on “Here we go again

  1. Great stuff! I live over in Manchester but I get home to all championship games and the odd league game. It really revs me up when I hear people moaning about weather or petrol costs to an FBD game yet they will sit on the high stool all day. I’d love to be going to the match tomorrow evening now get 2014 campaign off to a good start. Enjoy the match ye lucky devils!!!

  2. Does the ‘Western’ give the Castlebar throw in time for 7.30???; this always happens this time of the year…someone give it positive confirmation.

  3. When people say they find it difficult to attend games due to expense, it does not automatically mean that these people are spending their money or time in pubs. It seems a rather limited view of how we live.

  4. Here we go again , we’re on the road again, we’re on the road again , we’re on the way to… Paradise?

    we were good enough to win the all ireland last year , we will be good enough to win it this year too , lets enjoy the journey ,
    fair play to all of you in machale park tonight , i will follow on the twitter machine , keep us overseas fans posted folks !

  5. I note the team listed in Edwin McGreal’s tweet of 5 mins ago – with subs no less!
    John Reilly from Kiltane at midfield and David Drake at left half back from Ballagh should be interesting. NUIG team would also be interesting from a Mayo talent perspective.

    And, Donie Buckley listed as selector – good news I think.

  6. Sorry, Edwin’s tweet does not have the subs. They are on the official web site at:

    Here’s the whole lot:
    Robert Hennelly – Breaffy (Captain)
    2.) Keith Rogers – Ballaghaderreen
    3.) Kevin Keane – Westport
    4.) Eoghan Reilly – Castlebar Mitchels
    5.) Brendan Harrison – Aghamore
    6.) Shane McHale – Knockmore
    7.) David Drake – Ballaghaderreen
    8.) Jason Gibbons – Ballintubber
    9.) John Reilly – Kiltane
    10.) Adam Gallagher – Mayo Gaels
    11.) Cathal Freeman – Aghamore
    12.) Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber
    13.) Tom King – Castlebar Mitchels
    14.) Darren Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
    15.) Mickey Sweeney – Kiltane

    16.) Colm Boyle – Davitts
    17.) Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
    18.) Brian Gallagher – Claremorris
    19.) Cathal Carolan – Crossmolina
    20.) Michael Conroy – Davitts
    21.) Sean Kelly – Bohola Moy Davitts
    22.) Alan Freeman – Aghamore
    23.) Jason Doherty – Burrishoole
    24.) Enda Varley – Garrymore
    25.) Andy Moran – Ballaghaderreen
    26.) Lee Keegan – Westport

    Manager – James Horan
    Selector – Tom Prendergast
    Selector – Donie Buckley
    Doctor – Sean Moffatt
    Physio – Liam Moffatt

  7. Sadly Rog we weren’t good enough last year.

    We failed to turn up for the final and so came second.

    We could have, should have, but didn’t win so only Dublin were good enough to be champions.

  8. Looking forward to hearing how King, Coen & Sweeney get on tonight, obviously bigger tests ahead but interesting all the same

  9. Best of luck to them all. It must be very exciting for a new lad to be putting on the mayo jersey, I know it’s a million miles from croker in summer but still it must be exciting, dreaming of kicking the winner next September or intercepting a vital pass to prevent a vital score in a big game.
    Start with a win.

  10. Good luck to all the lads tonight.
    Is Colm Boyle our new sub keeper, as I don’t see one there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *