It’s Tooreen’s title once again

Photo: Mayo GAA

The main event in hurling within the county – the Senior Championship final, in which possession of the TJ Tyrell Cup was up for grabs – took place in wet and windy conditions at Adrian Freeman Park in Tooreen this afternoon. It was the home side who came out on top in today’s decider, beating perennial rivals Ballyhaunis by 1-14 to 2-5 to claim back-to-back titles and their 32nd county title in all.

Although Ballyhaunis, courtesy of a Keith Higgins point, got the game’s opening score, it was Tooreen who set the pace from early on. A goal from Eoin Delaney put them in the driving seat and they looked well in charge for most of the first half. Just before the break, though, Adrian Phillips did well to win possession and did even better to shoot to the net to leave just a point between the sides at the halfway mark.

Tooreen reasserted their dominance after the break, however, landing five points without reply during the third quarter. That, in effect, won the match and the title for them.

Ballyhaunis, to their credit, battled back after that. A point from Keith Higgins and a goal, bundled home by Jason Coyne, cut the gap to two but Tooreen upped the pace once more coming down the closing stretch. Further points from captain Shane Boland, top scorer for the winners today on six points, all from placed balls, Kenny Feeney and Cathal Freeman saw Tooreen home by six at the finish.

With the county crown in the bag, Tooreen can now turn their thoughts towards the defence of their Connacht IHC title. That campaign doesn’t get underway until the end of this month, however, so they’ve a bit of time to celebrate this victory first. Which, of course, they should. Congrats to them.

Match report on today’s county final by Mark Higgins for the GAA website is here and video highlights of the game from Mayo GAA TV are below:

The weekend’s other two hurling finals were contested yesterday at MacHale Park in far more benign weather. The Junior A title decider was won by Westport, who beat Tooreen’s B team by 2-7 to 0-10 to claim the Ciaran Byrne Cup. In the Junior B final, Claremorris claimed the Tom Earley Cup by beating Caiseal Gaels on a scoreline of 0-17 to 1-10. Well done to both of them.

3 thoughts on “It’s Tooreen’s title once again

  1. Congratulations to Toreen and well done to Ballyhaunis for keeping interest in hurling alive in their club, despite being on the losing end in most matches against their old enemy.

  2. Comhghairdeas to Tooreen on their great victory over their arch rivals Ballyhaunis. Also to the junior and underage clubs for keeping hurling alive in the county. Go neiri libh i gconai!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *