Junior team to play Sligo named

With the senior footballers and the hurlers having both tasted championship action (of the winning variety in both instances) over the Bank Holiday weekend, tomorrow night it’s the turn of the county’s Junior team to enter the fray. Now managed by Sean McLoughlin, the Juniors take on Sligo in the Connacht JFC semi-final tomorrow evening at Kilcoyne Park, Tubbercurry, where throw-in is set for 7.30pm. Details of the team and subs named tonight for this match are as follows:

Mayo (Connacht JFC semi-final v Sligo, 7/5/2014): Blake Forkan (Kiltimagh); Barry Leonard (Lahardane), Peter Cosgrove (The Neale), Conal Quinn (Moy Davitts); Pat Gaughan (Kiltane), Brendan Moran (Cill Chomain), Oisin Quinn (Moy Davitts); James Mulderrig (Moy Davitts), Jason Healy (Kiltane, captain); Ronan Doherty (Ardnaree), John Reilly (Kiltane), Stephen Conroy (The Neale); Sean Carey (Kiltane), Anthony Jordan (Moy Davitts), Ultan Corrigan (Kiltane). Subs: Evan Mulgrew (Breaffy), Sean Gaughan (Kiltane), Sean Boyle (Mayo Gaels), Stephen Grealis (Achill), Gerard Cafferkey (Achill), James McAndrew (Cill Chomain), Ronan Malee (Kiltimagh), Liam Staunton (Westport), Michael Togher (Belmullet).

9 thoughts on “Junior team to play Sligo named

  1. Best of luck to the squad, delighted to see the Kiltane players getting the opportunity to represent the county, well deserved after their year.
    Would be good if they could win the provincial title, winning is a habit!

  2. The whole of Erris seems to be on this panel ! great stuff, is anyone of the #mayogaa twitterati going to this ? it will hardly be on midwest?

  3. Only two of last years starting 15 [Barry Leonard and Ronan Doherty] and one sub [Oisin Quinn] on this years team which seems a remarkable turnover of players even allowing for all the variables which affect Junior county football. Is it an indication of a lack of real committment?
    Best of luck to the team in any case. Hopefully we will see more of them as the summer goes on.

  4. Great to see a Barry Leonard of Lahardane still representing the parish!

  5. Anybody know the criteria for which club players get selected to play for the Mayo Juniors? Good luck to the lads this evening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *