Minimal changes in team for Donegal on Sunday

Well, blow me over! That much-maligned (by me, at least) official Mayo GAA website is of some use after all. It is, in fact, the only place in cyberspace this morning that carries the Mayo team for Sunday’s NFL clash with Donegal at McHale Park. And here is the team:

Shane Nallen; Tom Cunniffe, Billy Joe Padden, Liam O’Malley; Chris Barrett, Trevor Howley, Keith Higgins; Seamus O Shea, Peadar Gardiner; James Gill, Alan Dillon, Michael Mullins; Conor Mortimor, Austin O’Malley, Andy Moran.

Plenty of experimentation there, huh? Just two changes from the starting fifteen up in Celtic Park, with the proximity of Ballina’s clash with Nemo ruling out David Clarke, while at corner-back Tom Cunniffe wins a deserved call-up ahead of Conor Moran. But no Tom Parsons, no Killer (in cracking Sigerson form again), no Barry Moran and no other changes of any kind. Sure, we’re likely to see three or more of the others get a run-out on the day but it’s far too early in the year to be fielding a settled team, especially one like that we’ve named. Last year, we had a settled side by March – and look where that got us – so I sincerely hope that Johnno’s uber-cautious selection for Sunday’s clash doesn’t come back to haunt us later in the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *