Teams for tomorrow’s match announced

I’m back home, feeling a tad bleary-eyed after the night’s flying but I see that details of the team and subs for tomorrow’s league match with Armagh have been announced and so here are those details:

Mayo (NFL Division One v Armagh, 13/3/2011): Kenneth O’Malley (Ballinrobe); Tom Cunniffe (Castlebar Mitchels), Cathal Hallinan (Ballintubber), Chris Barrett (Belmullet); Peadar Gardiner (Crossmolina), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Ruaidhri O’Connor (Ballintubber); Tom Parsons (Charlestown), Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber); Aidan Campbell (Swinford), Alan Dillon (Ballintubber), Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore); Aidan Kilcoyne (Knockmore), Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole).  Subs: Robert Hennelly (Breaffy), Richie Feeney (Castlebar Mitchels), James Burke (Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin), James Kilcullen (Ballaghaderreen), Ronan McGarrity (Ballina Stephenites), Enda Varley (Garrymore), Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber), Mark Ronaldson (Shrule-Glencorrib), Neil Douglas (Castlebar Mitchels), David Killeen (Ballinrobe).

There’s a good few changes from the side that started last time out against Galway – seven in all.  In come Kenneth O’Malley, Cathal Hallinan, Peadar Gardiner, Ruaidhri O’Connor, Tom Parsons, Jason Gibbons and Aidan O’Shea, while out go Robert Hennelly, Alan and Richie Feeney, James Burke, Ronan McGarrity, James Kilcullen and Aidan O’Shea.  The changes appear to be both as a result of this afternoon’s U21 championship clash with Roscommon and, I suspect, a general desire on the part of James Horan to keep freshening things up from game to game and not, as Johnno repeatedly did, let the side become settled at this early stage in the year.

By the way, in case you missed it, Armagh named their team and subs last night and included in their starting fifteen at centre-half forward, is BJP.  Here’s the details from their side:

Armagh (NFL Division One v Mayo, 13/3/2011): Philip Mc Evoy (Dromintee); Andy Mallon (Pearse Og), Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore) Finnian Moriarty (Wolfe Tones); Kevin Dyas (Dromintee) Ciaran Mc Keever (St. Patrick’s), Paul Duffy (Pearse Og); Kieran Toner (Granemore), Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps); Gareth Swift (Armagh Harps), Billy Joe Padden (Carrickcruppin), Malachy Mackin (St. Patrick’s); Micheal O’Rourke (Dromintee), Brian Mallon (Tir na nOg), Steven McDonnell (Killeavy).  Subs: John Mc Cullagh (Carrickcruppin), James Lavery (Maghery), Colm Watters (Cullaville), Conor Clarke (Pearse Og), John Murtagh (Crossmaglen), Gareth O’Neill (Dromintee), Rory Grugan (Ballymacnab), Declan McKenna (Armagh Harps), Anto Duffy (Pearse Og), Gavin McParlan (Ballymacnab).


3 thoughts on “Teams for tomorrow’s match announced

  1. Pattern emerging though. Half forward line is constant with Campell, Dillon and McLoughlin reappearing again.
    Cunniffe has the right corner spot nailed and Cafferky seems to be groomed for centre back. Andy Moran is a dead cert.
    Thought Feeney the right half back is one for this season and another game would take him on a stage.
    Bad trend occurring at U21 and actually believe its beyond Dempsey, felt he left two minor finals behind. Showed too much deference to opposition. Have to get rid of that Mayo trait.
    The Rossies are the future and the present, never thought I would say that. Last seasons U21 and senior Connacht champs, good value to retain U21 and Brigids in club final. Without notice or fanfare they are in a great spot.

  2. I would say the following positions are nailed down – Cunniffe at 2, Caff at 6, McGarrity at 8, Dillon at 11 (maybe 12) and Andy at 14 (maybe 11 or 12). McLoughlin will start but not sure if in defence or attack. Everyone else still has work to do.

    I wouldn’t rave too much about the Rossies today. Very average team. We gifted them the game. Only Aidan O’Shea (who was immense) can be fully happy with his game. Too many players with ability didn’t perform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *